What CA SB 1343 means for my company

Anti-harassment laws change all the time. New requirements arising from the #MeToo movement strengthen harassment protections. Others clear up ambiguities that existed in laws passed in previous years

California employers with at least five employees–including temporary and seasonal workers–must provide two hours ofsexual-harassment-prevention trainingfor supervisors and one hour for all other employees every two years (or within six months for a new hire or a worker who is promoted to a supervisory position). The initial training must be completed no later than January 1, 2020.
The CalChamber Whitepaper on CA 2019 Labor Laws outlines all changes to California’s labor law that were enacted in 2019.
Law precedent (2018)
New Law – SB1343 (2019).
Required for Employers with 50+ employees
And
Non-Supervisors: Mandatory Training of One Hour

The following are also included in the new bill:
Part-time, temporary, and independent contractors count towards the minimum number of five employees. Training must be provided within 30 calendar days of the hire date or within 100 hours worked. Employers must provide training within 30 days of the hire date for temporary and seasonal employees. This applies to any employee hired to work less than six months. Temporary employees employed by temporary services employers (as defined in the Labor Code) to perform services for clients must receive training from the employer and not the client.
Learn more about how California’s laws affect the following.
Leaves of Absence and BenefitsHiring Practices – Salary HistoryDiscrimination, Harassment and Retaliation ProtectionsWage and HourWorkplace Healthdownload the CalChamber Whitepaper on CA 2019 Labor Laws by click the button below.
Click here to request a quote from New Horizons for workplace harassment training.