What is CSSLP Certification? Everything You Need to Know

What is CSSLP Certification?
The Certified Secure Software Lifecycle Professional (CSSLP), a certification that was introduced by (ISC.2) in 2008, focuses on web application security throughout the software development cycle (SDLC). The CSSLP certification is ideal for security professionals and software developers who are responsible for implementing best practices at every stage of software development. This certification demonstrates that the candidate has the technical skills and advanced knowledge to design, develop, implement and maintain security practices throughout each phase of the software development lifecycle. The CSSLP certification training covers all aspects of secure software development. It provides a tactical solution as well as a long-term strategic perspective to improve software security in an organization.

CSSLP certification has many benefits:
The CSSLP certification proves that you are an expert in application security. CSSLP certification is a great way to improve your security knowledge. It will allow you to keep your skills current. It is not product-specific so you can easily apply your skills to different technologies and methodologies. It will teach you how to protect your organization and keep their sensitive data safe. This will help you in your career advancement.
CSSLP Experience Requirements
Minimum of four years of professional experience in the Software Development Lifecycle (SDLC), one or more of eight domains of CSSLP Common Body of Knowledge.
4-year college degree in Computer Science, Information Technology or related fields
The outline of the CSSLP exam:
Domain 1: Secure Software Concepts – This domain is 10% of the exam. It covers concepts such as confidentiality, integrity and availability, authentication, authorizations, auditing, management of sessions, and authorizations. It teaches candidates the fundamental concepts and principles of risk management and governance. It also explains the trusted computing concepts that can apply to the software.
Domain 2: Secure Software Requirements. This domain is 14% of the exam weightage. It provides information about the various sources that can be used to determine software security requirements. It explains how to create misuse cases using case scenarios.
Domain 3: Secure Software Design: This domain is worth 14% of the exam. It explains why software security is important and how to incorporate them into software design. It explains the security benefits and introduces you to the different software architectures.
Domain 4: Secure Software Implementation is also included in the exam. It also has 14% weightage. This domain covers declarative versus programmatic security, concurrency (e.g. thread safety, database concurrency control), output sanitization, (e.g. encoding, obstrucation), error and exception management, input validation, secure auditing and auditing, session management, and secure logging. It also explains vulnerability databases and the Top 10 open web application security projects (OWASP), as well as dynamic application security testing.
Domain 5: Secure Software Testing: This domain has 14% weightage in this exam. This domain teaches you how to create security test cases, security strategies, and plans. This domain teaches you how to validate documentation (e.g. installation and setup instructions. user guides. error messages. release notes). It also teaches how to analyze security implications of test findings (e.g. impact on product management, prioritization and break build criteria).
Domain 6: Secure Software Management